LTU 1037

The Lynn Teacher



June 2021

Officer and Delegate Candidates

Elections via Zoom Meeting

June 9, 2021 2:30 - 4:30 p.m.

LTU Officer Candidates

| President | Sheila O'Neil |
|--------------------------------|---------------------|
| 1st Vice President | Colleen McElligott- |
| | Liporto |
| 2 nd Vice President | Miriam Rodriguez- |
| | Fusco |
| Sec./Treasurer | Paul Mailloux |
| Rec. Secretary | Doreen Bucklin |
| Corresponding Sec | Catherine Deveney |
| Sergeant at Arms | Eric Serino |

AFT 2022 Convention Delegates Vote for 12 Delegates

Sheila O'Neil Brant Duncan Gale Thomas Paul Mailloux Miriam Rodriguez-Fusco Anna Leanos Williams Colleen McElligott-Liporto Brian LaPierre Eric Serino Phillip O'Connor Catherine Deveney Gary Torres Nadienka Perez

AFT MA 2022 Convention Delegates 20 Delegates

| Sheila O'Neil | Miriam Rodriguez- |
|---------------------|---------------------|
| Brant Duncan | Fusco |
| Catherine Deveney | Anna Leanos- |
| Gale Thomas | Williams |
| Paul Mailloux | Colleen McElligott- |
| Marie Cawlina-Kasle | Liporto |
| Alison Brennan | Danielle Desilets |
| Maureen Gemellaro- | Brian LaPierre |
| Walker | Eric Serino |
| Nicole Torres | Phillip O'Connor |
| Gary Torres | Peggy Azaryoun |
| - | |

NSLC 2021-2022 Delegates

8 Delegates

Sheila O'Neil

Brant Duncan

Gina O'Toole

Brian LaPierre

Eric Serino

Phillip O'Connor

Gary Torres

Building Representatives and

Building Committee Members

June 9, 2021 – Joint Executive Board & Membership Meeting LTU 3:15 p.m. via Zoom

Voting Polls – Open at 2:30 p.m. via Zoom

Dear Members of the Lynn Teachers Union:

FROM THE PRESIDENT

Words cannot express the respect and admiration I have for every educator in our schools. You have worked above and beyond to reach our students and families this year in ways never dreamed about. The challenges were many and you faced them with determination and perseverance. Thank you for everything you do every day.

We will be working on proposals over the summer and preparing for bargaining with LPS. We need LPS to compensate all educators fairly and comparably with like districts, especially after this school year. If we want to retain our talented workforce, we must compensate them well!

Have a great summer, you have earned the time to relax and rejuvenate.

Sincerely,

Sheila J. O'Mail

Sheila O'Neil

Condolences

We remember LTU members, Roseanne Fay, Robert Douglas and Anne O'Connell who have recently passed. The LTU extends its sincere condolences to their family, friends, and colleagues.

Happy Retirement Wishes

Congratulations and best wishes to the following LTU members on their upcoming retirement!

Victor Brandalise Mary Borelli Cynthia Brown Susan Buchanan Susan Burke Catherine Casey Deborah DeFilippo Janice Caruso Janice Downey Belinda Durgin Maureen Gallant Deborah Grant Blodwin Kelly Steven Lopez James Tidmarsh Ellen Patterson **Greg Washington** Edward Veiga Muriel Whenal Joanne Dupree Joyce MacDonald Maryalice Sutherland Estelle Dill

Upcoming Events

- 6/2/21 Organizing Team 3:30 p.m.
- \circ 6/3/21 Negotiating Teams 3:00 p.m.
- o **6/3/21 − Yoga with Lisa Lynch** LTU 4 − 5:15 p.m.
- 6/9/21 LTU Elections via Zoom Polls Open at 2:30 p.m.
- 6/9/21 Joint Executive Board & Membership Meeting 3:15 p.m.
- o 6/9/21 Officer and Delegate Elections Via Zoom Meeting 2:30 - 4:30 p.m..
- 6/10/21 Yoga with Lisa Lynch LTU 4 – 5:15 p.m.



The Lynn Teacher is published and printed by:

Lynn Teachers Union
Local 1037 AFT AFL-CIO
679 Western Avenue
Lynn, MA 01905
781-599-5591
ltu1037@lynnteachersunion.org
www.lynnteachersunion.org

President: Sheila O'Neil

1st Vice President: Colleen McElligott-Liporto

2nd Vice President: Miriam Rodriguez-Fusco
Secretary/Treasurer: Paul Mailloux

Corresponding Secretary: Catherine Deveney
Recording Secretary: Doreen Bucklin
Sergeant at Arms: Eric Serino